Keynote Speakers

These are the confirmed plenary speakers for the conference

Professor John A. Rogers
North-western University

Professor John A. Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1989.  From MIT, he received SM degrees in physics and in chemistry in 1992 and the PhD degree in physical chemistry in 1995.  From 1995 to 1997, Rogers was a Junior Fellow at Harvard University.  He joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department in 1997, and served as Director of this department from the end of 2000 to 2002.  He then spent thirteen years on the faculty at University of Illinois, most recently as the Swanlund Chair Professor and Director of the Seitz Materials Research Laboratory.  In 2016, he joined Northwestern University as the Simpson/Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Medicine, with joint appointments in Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering and h.  He is founding Director of the newly endowed Center for Bio-Integrated Electronics.  His research has been recognized by many awards including a MacArthur Fellowship (2009), the Lemelson-MIT Prize (2011) and the Smithsonian Award for American Ingenuity in the Physical Sciences (2013).  He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Prof. Clivia M. Sotomayor Torres
Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

ICREA Research Prof. Dr Clivia M. Sotomayor Torres was awarded her PhD in Physics in 1984 by the University of Manchester (UK). She then held tenured academic appointments at the universities of St. Andrews and Glasgow also in the UK, before becoming a C4 professor at Universität Wuppertal (Germany) in 1996. She was a research professor at the Tyndall National Institute, University College Cork (Ireland) from 2004 to 2008. Since May 2007 she has been an ICREA Research Professor based at the ICN2.

She has received awards from the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Nuffield Foundation, as well as an Amelia Earhart Fellowship from ZONTA International (USA). She is the author of over 470 scientific publications and has edited/co‐edited six books (Researcher ID; E‐8418‐2010, Hirsch index 40, over 6900 citations). She leads a strong team working on phonon engineering and is actively engaged in European research. She serves in scientific advisory committees on nanoscience and nanotechnology in Grenoble and Paris‐Saclay. She is a member of the Board of Stakeholders of Photonic21, represents the ICN2 in the Nanoelectronics ECSEL Joint Undertaking and is a visiting professor at the Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (Royal Institute of Technology, KTH) in Sweden. She is also currently serving as deputy chair of the Advisory Group for the European Commission’s Future and Emerging Technologies programme.

Prof. Malini Olivo
A*STAR Singapore

Malini Olivo is currently head of Bio-Optical Imaging Group, Singapore Bioimaging Consortium, A*STAR, Singapore. She holds a Professorship the National University of Ireland, Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland. She obtained Ph.D. in Bio-Medical Physics in 1990 from University Malaya/University College London, and did her post-doctoral training between 1991-1995 in University College London, UK and both McMaster University and University of Toronto, Canada. She came to Singapore is 1995 and has been very active in biophotonics research in Singapore. She pioneered the laboratory of Photomedicine in Singhealth Singapore. She was Principal Investigator at the Singapore National Cancer Centre and Singhealth between 1996-2009 heading biophotonics research for clinical translation in cancer. She also served as adjunct professor in the Dept of Pharmacy, NUS from 2002-2013.

In 2009, she took a Stokes Professorship Science Foundation Ireland Chair in the National University of Ireland and returned to Singapore in 2012 to head bio-optical imaging in SBIC, A*STAR.

She is recognized as a pioneer in the area of clinical applications of photomedicine in optical diagnostics and therapeutics in Singapore. She was the recipient the Singhealth research excellence award for her contribution to scientific research excellance in Singhealth in the area of clinical biophotonics for diagnostics and therapeutics of cancer. She has won numerous awards in recognition of her contribution to biophotonics in Singapore, Ireland and US. In 2011, the International society for photonics and optics SPIE conferred an award for her contribution as a woman in photonics.

Her current research interest is in nano-biophotonics and its applications in translational medicine. She has published over 350 scientific papers, 2 book, 20 book chapters and 30 patents. She has secured > S$20 million in research grants as PI/Co-PI through various funding agencies in Singapore and Europe. Malini Olivo is well recognized internationally in her field of biophotonics and serves in numerous scientific advisory boards in the area of Photonics in Medicine. She has served in the EU research commission in Photonics 21 shaping research in photonics for Life sciences. In 2015, the Optical Society of America conferred her a Fellowship award for her pioneering contributions to Photomedicine in the area of photodiagnostics and phototherapeutics.

Important Dates

Call for abstracts
1 December 2017

Abstract submission deadline
26 January 2018

Notification of Acceptance
16 March 2018

End of early registration
25 April 2018

Deadline for final papers
11 May 2018

Supporting Organisations

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Partner Associations

© 2017-2018 Tyndall All rights reserved

© 2017-2018 Tyndall All rights reserved